DRT Poetry Site Header Logo

David Rosenmann-Taub

David Rosenmann-Taub
David Rosenmann-Taub

David Rosenmann-Taub was born in Santiago de Chile in 1927. His first book, Cortejo y Epinicio, appeared when the poet was twenty-two years old, and was acclaimed as a revelation. Since then, Rosenmann-Taub has published more than fifteen volumes of poetry, among them Los Despojos del Sol, La Enredadera del Júbilo, Los Surcos Inundados (which received the Premio Municipal de Poesía), El Mensajero, Auge, Quince, and La Opción.

(Read More)


Books by David Rosenmann-Taub

Transparent 1x1 GIF

“For me, there is no separation between poetic activity, musical activity and drawing. One could say that I write in Spanish, in music and in drawing. If I were to play with the terms: I draw with words and I write with drawings. Each type of work has its own law and I use the means that fit best what I want to express.” [David Rosenmann-Taub: interview by Beatriz Berger]
DRT Music
The Music of David Rosenmann-Taub
David Rosenmann-Taub drawing in his studio
The Drawings of David Rosenmann-Taub

Featured Videos



Announcements & Recent Events

David Rosenmann-Taub: Poems and Commentaries, Volume II

Poems and Commentaries Volume II, Kenneth GorfkleDavid Rosenmann-Taub: Poems and Commentaries, Volume II. In his second volume of translations and commentaries, Kenneth Gorfkle translates, glosses and paraphrases sixty poems that deal with several of the poet's primary preoccupations, chief among which are the challenges and rewards of living a conscious life. Separate editions in Spanish and English were published by The University of North Carolina Press in August 2023.

Kenneth Gorfkle earned his PhD in Spanish Literature from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He has studied David Rosenmann-Taub's poetry for years and is one of the world's foremost authorities on the poet's work.